Honors students shine at research poster symposium
May 1, 2018

Honors students made a strong showing among the approximately 300 undergrads sharing their research at the VCU Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program’s 10th Annual Poster Symposium for Undergraduate Research and Creativity on April 25. And all four of the annual VCU Launch Awards recipients are members of the Honors College. Judged by 35 faculty members, staff, editors and research advisors from across the university, these first-year and second-year students were recognized for having produced research posters that exhibit remarkable rigor and vision.

Kylie Carroll, a first-year in the School of the Arts, was awarded for her poster, “Enhancing Handbag Design through Anti-Counterfeit Technology.” 

research poster by K. Carroll

Panth Doshi, a biomedical engineering major, presented “Using Crosslinked Hyaluronic Acid (HA) and Collagen Scaffolds with Sustained BDNF Release to Regenerate Neural Tissue after SCIs” (spinal cord injuries).

research poster by P. Doshi

Sophomore Priyanka Kundur, who worked with Dr. Antonio Abbate, Dr. Gabriele Mauro and Dr. Stefano Toldo in VCU Health’s Department of Internal Medicine, was recognized for “Protective Effects of SP16 Therapy in Mice with Diet-Induced Cardiomyopathy and AMI.” The biology major began working with Dr. Abbate as a high school student at Richmond’s Maggie L. Walker Governor's School. Priyanka also participated in Discover Medicine in Italy, an Honors summer program facilitated by Dr. Abbate. Her research was funded through a 2017 UROP Research Fellowship.

research poster by P. Kundur

First-year student Anna Marie Rodriguez was awarded for “Barriers to Urban Agriculture in Metro-Manila, Philippines: Proposing Allotment Garden Units as a Tool for Dietary Diversification.”

research poster by A.M. Rodriguez

In addition to these four, eight of the 10 other finalists were Honors College members: Rene Beck, Emily Cheng, Roushini Manjunath, Savarna Pahari, Tiannie Phan, Zuhayr Shaikh, Kamola Tolliboeva and Timmy Tran.

Congratulations to ALL of our participating researchers!